Economy

Enlarge image Business and Technology in Germany
Germany lies at the centre of Europe and offers excellent access not just to a prosperous domestic market of 82 million inhabitants, but also to the Common Market of the European Union with its 27 Member States and 500 Million people. Germany is Europe’s powerhouse, and globally it is the fourth largest economy. Gross National Prduct (GDP) in 2010 stood at 2,476 Billion Euro (30,350 Euro GDP per capita).
Germany is a fully developed, service centred economy; 71 percent of economic activity happen in the services sector. At the sime time, production and industry continue to be of prime importance and form the basis for Germany’s excellent reputation as an outstanding export nation: Anually, Germany exports products valuing approximately 1 trillion Euro, among them in particular technologically advanced items such as vehicles and parts, machinery and chemical products.
More than 10,000 foreign companies operate in Germany,
with more than 2 million employees and an annual turnover of more than 750 billion Euros. Foreign investors and entrepreneurs see Germany as a prime location in terms of infrastructure, logistics, research and development as well as design. Especially when it comes to the the framework and the conditions for R&D, Germany scores high marks, which underscores the country’s high competitiveness with regards to future technologies.
The Federal Government
in its latest estimates expects real GDP-growth to be at 2.9 percent in 2011, slowing to 1 percent in 2012, relying largely on growing domestic consumption. The unemployment rate is around 7 percent this year, and inflation in check at 2%.

CeBIT 2011

Technology „Made in Germany“

Airbags, Aspirin, gummy bears, jet engines, light bulbs, maglev train, mp3, the pill, spark plugs, the theory of relativity, toothpaste and X-ray technology: The list of German inventions that changed everyone’s lives is long – and is still getting longer. Almost 20 percent of (international) applications at the European Patent Office are from Germany.

Wueste Gobi, Sandduenen

Climate, Environment and Energy

International climate policies, questions of energy security, cross-border environment preservation activities - these and other related issues have become core elements of foreign policy over the last years. Climate change is one of the key challenges of the 21st century. The role of foreign policy consists in following and supporting climate change negotiations to get closer to the goal of a binding global agreement. 

The Australian Economy

Australia’s economy is dominated by the services sector, which makes up almost 80 percent of GDP. Financial services, real estate and corporate services are of particular importance. While agriculture and resources account for only 10 percent of GDP, both sectors provide around 70 percent of Australias exports. Future fields such as ICT, e-commerce, bio-, nano-, and health-technologies are playing an increasingly important role. It is in these fields that there are excellent synergies with the current export initiatives of the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

Etat 2010 steht - 80,2 Milliarden neue Schulden

Supporting mutual trade, investment and economic exchange

More than a quarter of Germany’s national income is earned in exports, and every fifth job in the country depends on our trade with other nations. The export of goods and services is a key driver of the German economy. The process of globalisation further enhances Germany’s dependence on unfettered interaction with global markets. 

Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte

National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights

The German Government adopted the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights in its cabinet meeting on Wednesday (21 December). The goal of this Action Plan is to implement the United Nations Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights.

Economy

ILLUSTRATION - Ein Porsche-Firmenlogo wird vor ein VW-Logo in Wolfsburg...

The German-Australian Chamber is the first port-of-call for recruiters and job seekers. 

Internship

Check out this new internship platform which might offer the one or the other opportunity in Australia as well.

Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI)

Logo Germany Trade and Invest (GTAI)

Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI) is the economic development agency of the Federal Republic of Germany. With more than 50 offices in Germany and abroad and its network of partners throughout the world, GTAI supports German companies setting up in foreign markets, promotes Germany as a business location and assists foreign companies setting up in Germany.

Wirtschaft, Technologie und Umwelt

[IE] PRESS - Stock Images Bild vergrößern (© picture-alliance / united-archiv) Wirtschafts- und Technologiestandort Deutschland
Mitten im Herzen Europas gelegen bietet Deutschland exzellenten Zugang nicht nur zu den 82 Millionen Menschen, die in Deutschland leben, sondern auch in den Binnenmarkt der Europäischen Union mit ihren weiteren 26 Mitgliedstaaten und rd. 420 Millionen Menschen. Deutschland ist das wirtschaftlich stärkste Land in Europa und die viertgrößte Volkswirtschaft der Welt. Deutschlands Bruttoinlandsprodukt lag im Jahr 2010 bei rund 2.476 Milliarden Euro (30.350 Euro BIP pro Kopf).
Deutschland ist eine voll entwickelte Dienstleistungsgesellschaft; 71 Prozent der Wirtschaftsleistung entstehen in diesem Sektor. Gleichzeitig haben die deutsche Industrie und das produzierende Gewerbe nach wie vor auch im europäischen Vergleich eine sehr starke Stellung und liefern damit die Grundlage für Deutschlands Ruf als besonders bedeutende Exportnation: Waren im Wert von rund einer Billion Euro werden im Jahr aus Deutschland ausgeführt, darunter insbesondere technologisch höchstwertige Produkte wie Fahrzeuge, Maschinen und chemische Erzeugnisse.
In Deutschland haben mehr als 10.000 ausländische Unternehmen mit mehr als 2 Millionen Mitarbeitern und einem Jahresumsatz von mehr als 750 Milliarden Euro ihren Standort. Ausländische Unternehmer sehen Deutschland bei Infrastruktur und Logistik, Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Design auf den vorderen Plätzen. Die herausragende Bewertung der Rahmenbedingungen von Forschung und Entwicklung belegt die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Deutschlands besonders bei Zukunftstechnologien.
Die Bundesregierung rechnet zur Zeit mit einem Anstieg des realen Bruttoinlandsprodukts von 2,9 Prozent in diesem Jahr (2011) und von 1 Prozent im nächsten Jahr (2012), zunehmend stärker getragen auch von der Binnennachfrage. Die Arbeitslosenquote liegt 2011 im Durchschnitt bei 7 Prozent, die Inflation bei rund 2 Prozent.

ILLUSTRATION - Ein Porsche-Firmenlogo wird vor ein VW-Logo in Wolfsburg...

Technologie „Made in Germany“

Airbags, Aspirin, Düsenantrieb, Gummibären, Glühlampen, Magnetschwebebahn, mp3, die Pille, Relativitätstheorie, Röntgentechnologie, Zahnpasta und Zündkerzen: Deutsche Erfindungen haben das Leben weltweit verändert - und die Liste der Erfindungen wird noch immer jedes Jahr länger. Knapp 20 Prozent der (internationalen) Anmeldungen beim Europäischen Patentamt stammen aus Deutschland.

Wueste Gobi, Sandduenen

Umwelt, Klima und Energie

Internationale Klimapolitik, Fragen der Energiesicherheit, grenzüberschreitender Umweltschutz - all diese und verwandte Themen sind in den letzten Jahren  immer mehr zu zentralen außenpolitischen Aufgaben geworden. Der Klimawandel ist eine der größten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Für die Außenpolitik geht es in erster Linie darum, die Klimaverhandlungen zu begleiten und zu unterstützen, um dem Ziel eines weltweiten verbindlichen Klimaschutzabkommens näher zu kommen.

Wirtschaft in Australien

Australiens Wirtschaft wird vom Dienstleistungssektor dominiert (knapp 80 Prozent des BIP). Größte Einzelbereiche des Dienstleistungssektors sind Finanzen, Immobilien und Unternehmensdienstleistungen. Der Landwirtschafts- und Bergbauanteil am BIP liegt bei rund 10 Prozent, doch ist der Anteil dieser beiden Sektoren an Australiens Exporten mit rd. 70 Prozent erheblich. Die Zukunftsbranchen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, E-Commerce, Bio-, Nano- und Medizintechnologie spielen daneben eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle; hier gibt es ausgezeichnete Anknüpfungspunkte für die aktuellen Exportinitiativen des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie.

Etat 2010 steht - 80,2 Milliarden neue Schulden

Außenwirtschaftsförderung

Mehr als jeder vierte Euro in Deutschland wird im Export von Waren und Dienstleistungen verdient, und mehr als jeder fünfte Arbeitsplatz hängt vom Außenhandel ab. Der Export von Gütern und Dienstleistungen ist deshalb eine Hauptantriebskraft der deutschen Konjunktur. Die Globalisierung der Wirtschaft vertieft die Abhängigkeiten Deutschlands vom Weltmarkt noch weiter.

Wirtschaft, Technologie und Umwelt

Deutsche B�rse stellt sich auf schwieriges Jahr 2009 ein

Das Jobportal der Deutsch-Australischen Industrie- und Handelskammer Sydney. 

Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI)

Neues Logo Germany Trade and Invest (GTAI)

Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI) ist die Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Mit über 50 Standorten weltweit und dem Partnernetzwerk unterstützt GTAI deutsche Unternehmen bei ihrem Weg ins Ausland, wirbt für den Standort Deutschland und begleitet ausländische Unternehmen bei der Ansiedlung in Deutschland.

Markets on air

(© GTAI)

DW | Wirtschaft

DW | Wirtschaft

21.02.2017 13:59

Carsharing im Aufwind